Nymphomania and the charm of the hidden

The beauty and charm of the hidden occupy us in culture, art and traditions since the beginning of time. This attraction, which in the old times was and is a variant of the gods or better of the goddesses and nature spirits,also leads us to the still very well-known term “Nymphomanie”.

Nymphomania – a word that already carries its mystical origin. An expression of the unrestrained desire, the strong erotic attraction stems from the eponymous nature goddesses of the ancient world, the nymphs.

Nymphs, companions of the olympic gods, of exquisite beauty and yet so close to man. They are tranquil beings, though dance, song and the embrace of the mortals and immortals is their nature.

The symbolism of the nymphs is manifold. It particularly covers the areas of fertility and sexuality.For example, from Vladimir Nabokov’s “Lolita” the term “nymphi” comes from a type of precocious girl whom the protagonist finds sexually attractive.

The word “nymph” is also used in some cultures for symbols of the female genitalia such as lotus flowers, white water lilies and certain snails. But you should not fall in love with a water nymph. She is passionate about flirting but rarely takes it seriously. Broken hearts adorn her nearly 10,000 years long life. A reverberation has been preserved in popular belief in mermaids, especially the pernicious quality of dragging their darlings down into the moist depths;

“The water lilies suddenly shuddered in the still pond. The water rippled and hit the wall gently. The lizard darted away. Bormus stared into the water, trapped by the spell that suddenly surrounded the place. In the midst of the water lilies a female being showed herself, infinitely seductive and infinitely mysterious. Her skin was lighter than the petals; her eyes were green as the leaves. Dark hair wrapped in garlands flowed into the water over her moist, glossy shoulders. She raised a hand and Bormus leaned toward her. But then he hesitated and backed away.

“You are not mortal, virgin,” he said.

The woman smiled dreamily, shook her head and waved, and the youth’s eyes darkened with desire. He stretched out his arms.

The moment his fingertips touched the water, the woman grasped his wrist with an iron grip. Sharp little nails drilled into his flesh, and the slender arm pulled Bormus relentlessly into the water, down into the world under the earth, where still the water spirits prevailed and humans could not breathe. 

Verzauberte Welten, Wassergeister

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately, many imbue nymphomania with qualities that are hardly or not at all reflected in this word. Just as Rembrandt shows us a much more subtle, almost timid and yet passionate scene in Diana Bathing with her Nymphs with Actaeon and Callisto, flirting and dancing with a nymph is an exuberant play that begins slowly with little waves and only towards the end like one roaring wave breaks over the dancers.

 

 

 

Please don’t tip-toe

Come close, let’s flow

Anchor in me, get lost at sea

The world’s your oyster, and I am the pearl

Open waters sink into me slowly

So baby come and take a swim with me

Make me ripple ’til I’m wavy

Don’t be scared to dive in deep

And start a tsunami

Oh, you’re waking up an ocean of emotion

That my body can’t hide 

Oh, now you’re soaked in my devotion 

‘Cause you opened up a paradise 

                                – Katy Perry

Start typing and press Enter to search

Nymphomanie und der Reiz des Verborgenen

Die Schönheit und der Reiz des Verborgenen beschäftigen uns in Kultur, Kunst und Traditionen schon seit Menschengedenken. Diese Anziehungskraft, welche im alten Glauben eine Spielart der Götter oder besser der Göttinnen und Naturgeister war und ist, führt uns auch zu dem noch heute sehr bekannten Begriff “Nymphomanie”.

Nymphomanie – ein Wort das schon ins sich seinen mystischen Ursprung trägt. ein Ausdruck des unbändigen Verlangens, der starken erotischen Anziehungskraft rührt von den namensgebenden Naturgöttinnen der Antike, den Nymphen, her.

Nymphen, Begleiterinnen der uns bekannten olympischen Götter, von erlesener Schönheit und doch den Menschen so nah. Ihnen ist das Leise zu eigen, auch wenn Tanz, Gesang und das Umgarnen der Sterblichen und Unsterblichen ihr Tagwerk ist.

Die Symbolik der Nymphen ist vielfältig. Sie umfasst besonders die Bereiche Fruchtbarkeit und Sexualität. Zum Beispiel stammt aus Vladimir Nabokovs  “Lolita” der Ausdruck „Nymphchen“ für einen Typus frühreifer Mädchen, die der Protagonist sexuell anziehend findet.

Das Wort „Nymphe“ wird in manchen Kulturen auch für Symbole der weiblichen Genitalien wie Lotosblüten, weiße Seerosen und bestimmte Schnecken benutzt. Verlieben sollte man sich allerdings nicht in eine Wassernymphe. Sie flirtet leidenschaftlich gerne und meint es selten ernst. Gebrochene Herzen zieren ihren fast 10.000 Jahre langen Lebensweg. Ein Nachklang hat sich im Volksglauben an Nixen erhalten, namentlich die verderbliche Eigenschaft, ihre Lieblinge in die feuchte Tiefe hinabzuziehen;

“Mit einem Mal erzitterten die Seerosen in dem stillen Teich. Das Wasser kräuselte sich und schlug sanft an die Mauer. Die Eidechse huschte davon. Bormus starrte ins Wasser, eingefangen von dem Zauber, der plötzlich den Ort umgab. Inmitten der Seerosen zeigte sich ein weibliches Wesen, unendlich verführerisch und unendlich geheimnisvoll. Ihre Haut war heller als die Blütenblätter; ihre Augen schimmerten grün wie das Laub. Dunkles, mit Blättergirlanden umwundenes Haar floß über ihre feuchtglänzenden Schultern ins Wasser. Sie hob eine Hand, und Bormus beugte sich ihr entgegen. Dann aber zögerte er und wich zurück.

“Du gehörst nicht zu den Sterblichen, Jungfrau”, sagte er.

Die Frau lächelte verträumt, schüttelte den Kopf und winkte, und die Augen des Jünglings verdunkelten sich vor Verlangen. Er streckte die Arme aus.

Im gleichen Moment, da seine Fingerspitzen das Wasser berührten, umfaßte die Frau sein Handgelenk mit eisernem Griff. Scharfe kleine Nägel bohrten sich in sein Fleisch, und der schlanke Arm zog Bormus unerbittlich ins Wasser, hinab in die Welt unter der Erde, wo immer noch die Wassergeister herrschten und die Menschen nicht atmen konnten.”

Verzauberte Welten, Wassergeister

 

 

 

 

Viele verbinden jedoch leider mit der Mannstollheit, also der Nymphomanie, jene Eigenschaften, die sich kaum oder gar nicht in diesem Wort wiederfinden. Denn so wie schon Rembrandt uns im Bad der Diana eine viel subtilere, fast schüchterne und dennoch leidenschaftliche Szene zeigt, so ist auch der Flirt und der Tanz mit einer Nymphe ein ausgelassenes Spiel, welches mit kleinen Wellen langsam beginnt und erst zum Ende hin wie eine tosende Welle über den Tanzenden hineinbricht.

 

 

 

Please don’t tip-toe

Come close, let’s flow

Anchor in me, get lost at sea

The world’s your oyster, and I am the pearl

Open waters sink into me slowly

So baby come and take a swim with me

Make me ripple ’til I’m wavy

Don’t be scared to dive in deep

And start a tsunami

Oh, you’re waking up an ocean of emotion

That my body can’t hide 

Oh, now you’re soaked in my devotion 

‘Cause you opened up a paradise 

                                – Katy Perry

Beginnen Sie mit der Eingabe und drücken Sie Enter, um zu suchen